June Wrap Up and July To Be Read

Hi guys! 🙂 Welcome to my blog. I thought I’d kick things off with a classic Wrap Up and TBR post. Stay tuned for bookish blog posts every Saturday (and maybe some extra ones scattered across the week)! If you’d like to learn a bit more about me, check out the ‘about’ page!

June Wrap Up

1) The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #1)

Rating: 

Genre: Urban Fantasy (Young Adult)

If you have not heard of this book yet, you must be living under a rock. With the final book of the series coming out last month, I was compelled to finally start the series (as I owned all the books but haven’t read any at that moment). This book follows a psychic’s daughter named Blue and four boys (Gansey, Adam, Noah, and Ronan) who attend Aglionby Academy, a prestigious ‘pre-ivy league’ high school in Henrietta, Virginia. I really enjoyed this book but I couldn’t give it a 5 stars because it put me into a month-long reading slump. Though the slump was not solely caused by the book (because I also had exams and last-minute school projects to do the whole of May), when the school year ended, I was still not motivated to power through the book. I did almost give the book a 3 stars but the last 100 pages, despite the predictability, were intense and boosted my overall opinion on the book. I liked the cast of characters but I’m not in love with all of the raven boys as many people in this fandom are. I will say that my favorite as of now is either Adam or Ronan. I am definitely going to continue on with this series some time this year, not right away though.

2) The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye (The Crown’s Game #1)

Rating: 

Genre: Historical Fantasy (Young Adult)

I really enjoyed this book and I definitely believe that it deserves so much more hype and credit that it has. This was briefly mentioned by JesseTheReader over at BookTube and when he said that it was about magic in Imperial Russia, I was instantly hooked but I couldn’t find it in any bookstore here in the Philippines! When I accidentally stumbled upon it, I grabbed it, bought it, and read it that very same day. As previously mentioned, this book is set in Imperial Russia, October 1825 to be more exact, and follows two enchanters, Vika and Nikolai, who have to compete in The Crown’s Game in order to become the Tsar’s Imperial Enchanter. The plot was extremely fast paced and I found that this was a pretty good book to get me out of a month-long reading slump. I found that the characters were the type that you just get invested in and stand by through every decision they make. I don’t know if I like Pasha for Vika more just because I pity him but I’m almost sure that Nikolai is endgame because it just makes sense. What dropped my rating is the slight insta-love and the rushed world building. I’ll definitely go more in-depth in an upcoming full review of this book! Look forward to that next Saturday. 😉


July To Be Read

Finishing The Crown’s Game definitely put me out of that super long reading slump. I’m going to be slightly ambitious this month just because it’s summer but I’m almost sure that I won’t get to all of these. Also, I’m super bad at sticking to TBRs so don’t expect all of these to show up in next months wrap up!

1) The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (The Trials of Apollo #1)

Genre: Urban Fantasy (Middle Grade)

I was actually planning to read this one after I finished The Raven Boys but then I ended up reading The Crown’s Game on a whim. However, I am reading it now and I have to say, I’m quite enjoying it. This book follows the Greek god Apollo who was turned into a mortal boy after upsetting Zeus. It takes place in the same world as Percy Jackson meaning Camp Half Blood and Heroes of Olympus cameos that I’m pretty excited for (mainly just Percabeth to be honest).

2) 1984 by George Orwell

Genre: Dystopian (Adult)

This book is at the top of my TBR not because I really want to read it but because I need to read it for school. However, the main reason I chose this book to read over the summer is that I’ve heard so many good things about it. Also, to my knowledge, it is the first (or one of the first) dystopian books outthere. Even though my love for dystopian has decreased since the Hunger Games and Divergent days, I’m interested to see how this classic compares to some of my favorites like the Legend trilogy.

3) The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima (Seven Realms #1)

Genre: High Fantasy (Young Adult)

After reading The Crown’s Game last month, it put me into a very fantasy mood. I’m not entirely sure what this book is about but I just know that it is high fantasy and everyone who reads it seems to love it. I’ve heard rave reviews about the plot and characters so it is super appealing to me right now. Who knows? If I end up liking the first book, I might just marathon the whole series this month because I already own them.

4) A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #1)

Genre: Mystery/Science Fiction (Young Adult) – I think :3

I haven’t heard a ton about this book but it sounds pretty interesting. I mean on Goodreads it says ‘Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black’. I haven’t read Cloud Atlas but honestly, I’ve just recently marathoned all seasons of Orphan Black and I am obsessed. I recommended it to all of my friends and I never shut up about it. I know that this book involves jumping between different dimensions and is somewhat like a mystery because the protagonist is trying to figure out who murdered her father. I’m most probably going to jump into this one next!

5) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (ACOTAR #1)

Genre: High Fantasy + Fairytale Retelling (New Adult)

Unlike the other books in this TBR, I actually know something about the book (but I don’t know how anyone doesn’t know about this book at this point). ACOTAR is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It follows Feyre who ends up murdering a wolf in the woods. Soon after, she is then confronted by a faerie who is seeking retribution for the death of the wolf. I am extremely eager to read this one, especially after the release of A Court of Mist and Fury and the amazing reviews that came with it. The average rating on goodreads for ACOMAF is 4.77 out of 5 stars that’s CRAZY high. That being said, this one is currently at the bottom of my TBR so I proably won’t get to it this month. I guess we’ll see how I get on next month!

One thought on “June Wrap Up and July To Be Read

Leave a Reply

