Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Published By: Harper Teen

Series: Firebird Trilogy #1

Pages: 360


Synopsis from Goodreads

Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father’s killer through multiple dimensions.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite’s father is murdered, and the killer—her parent’s handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores an amazingly intricate multi-universe where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.


Spoiler Free Review

Let me just say that this was a definitely a cover buy but it was a cover buy that payed off. All of the aspects of this book were amazing.

Plot: 

The pacing of the plot, as well as the plot itself was honestly the major strength of this book. The book starts off with the main character, Marguerite, jumping into an alternate futuristic London. Because this book begins with such a bang, I was super intrigued even though I was only a few pages in. I found myself always wanting to continue a few more chapters (more like 100 pages) each night. The whole possibility of infinite alternate universes was just so intriguing to me that I wanted to learn everything about these dimensions that Marguerite was travelling to. My favorite definitely has to be the tsarist Russia dimension as so much happens there and its a time period/lifestyle that I enjoy reading about. (By the way, the Firebird does not allow time travel, its just that some dimensions develop faster than others.) The antagonist was intriguing and I really liked finally getting the answers I was long for throughout the entire novel. Can’t wait to see what’s going to happen in the next book.

Writing: .5

The writing was very easy to read and definitely contributed to how fast I read this book. In the earlier parts of the novel, Claudia Gray used painting as a way to describe the dimension being visited. Being someone who loves art, I found the descriptions helpful and they were written very well. However, I found that her writing flowed a little bit too well. We get a lot of flashbacks in this book but it wasn’t made that clear when they happened so I found myself getting a bit confused when those occurred.

Characters.5

The characters were very likeable. I liked how Marguerite was an artist in the dimensions that she visited. She was, of course, one of those heroines who would do anything they can do get what they want. Seeing her adapt to the lifestyle of the different Marguerites in each dimension was very fun and she did it so naturally. She really does remind me of Sarah Manning from Orphan Black (You have to watch that TV series its amazing.)

Paul was the typical silent boy that walled up his emotions. However, I feel like his character was written so well that it didn’t really bother me that he was not the most original character out there. My opinion of him definitely changed as Marguerite’s changed. His awkward side is definitely his best side. (Also as another nod to Orphan Black, mid way through the book, I started to picture him as the Paul in that show… whoops) Theo is also super charming. He’s definitely the Simon of the group. Though we didn’t get him as much in the middle of the book, I’m still worried about what’s going to happen to him in the next book.

All the other characters are also well written and I loved getting to know them. I just hope that we get to see more of the flaws in our characters as this series continues on.

Romance: 

The romance was really, really well done in my opinion. From the flashbacks we get to see how it started and how it eventually grew without Marguerite ever realizing it. I loved seeing how her love interest (in case you don’t want spoilers) was just so protective of her and we understood the motivation behind their actions. One thing, umfortunately, is that the whole love triangle is not necessary. It didn’t play a big role in the story and it was very obvious who Marguerite liked more. I did like, however, that it was one where all of the characters involved loved each other and there was no jealousy between them.

Ending: 

Plot twist after plot twist. I’m definitely that reader who doesn’t see any plot twist coming, even if its right in front of me. They definitely caught me off guard so I won’t say anything else so you don’t get spoiled. :3

Overall Rating: 

Perfect for readers looking for a science-fiction that isn’t so heavy on the technological stuff. I guess this book is more of a contemporary sci-fi with a bit of mystery thrown in.


SPOILERS AHEAD! READ THE BOOK FIRST. 🙂


Spoiler Discussion

I don’t know if it was just me but I didn’t see these two plot twists coming. I’m not sure if Claudia Gray left little hints here and there like some authors do or if she just pulled a the twists out of no where.

I guess I should’ve found it suspicious that Theo was using a bright green drug just one day after jumping into a new dimension but I just waved it off like it was nothing. It seemed normal enough to me due to the background we get of him using marijuana. Maybe he just found it and thought it would work the same? When Paul said bright green liquid I instantly knew and I literally sat there with my mouth open looking stupid.

Also the fact that Marguerite’s dad was kidnapped to another dimension? This one left me in shock as well as happiness for Marguerite. I still don’t entirely understand how it was possible to do. How did Henry’s consciousness travel without the Firebird travelling with him? I hope that we get a little bit more explanation in the next book as I know that it involves the kidnapping of Paul into another dimension.


Feel free to tell me your thoughts on the book by writing a comment!

 

 

Goodreads Account | Instagram Account

Leave a Reply

