July Wrap Up & August To Be Read

This month was basically my best reading month ever. I finished 5 novels and 2 graphic novels. I mostly stuck to fast paced books to get me out of that reading slump that started last month. Though I am now going strong with reading, I don’t think I’ll be able to maintain the pace because my school starts on Thursday (August 4) and my time management sucks so I doubt I’ll be able to read a lot.


July Wrap Up

1) The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (The Trials of Apollo #1)

Full Review & Spoiler Discussion | Goodreads Page

Rating: .5

I really enjoyed this book and it was the perfect book to take me out of a reading slump. It was super funny and fast paced with characters I ended up caring about in a span of less than 400 pages. I won’t go into detail because I already have a review up. Check it out if you want to know my feelings on it.

2) A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #1)

Full Review & Spoiler Discussion of Book | Goodreads Page

Rating: 

This book (and its sequel) are definitely some of my favorite reads of the year. It’s action packed and I the romance was pretty well written. The plot was fast paced and I loved learning along with our main character. Check out my full review!

3) Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #2)

Goodreads Page

Rating: 

I definitely liked this book as much as the first book. The plot was as fast paced as its previous novel and there were even more plot twists. I enjoyed seeing the conflict grow and grow into something that I really wasn’t expecting. I can’t wait to see how this series wraps up because I don’t see how it can finish in one book. I should’ve waited for the last book because that cliff hanger though! I can’t wait to see how this series wraps up because I don’t see how it can finish in one book.

4) 1984 by George Orwell (BookTube-A-Thon Read #1)

Goodreads Page

Rating: 

This book was not amazing but not terrible. I know that this book is already less than 300 pages but I think that it still should be shortened because the first half is a little bit unnecessary. I didn’t care that much for the characters and the romance was very insta-lovey. There was an info dump that lasted around 40 pages that definitely did not contribute to the enjoyment of the book. The world is interesting but there wasn’t that much dialogue and it was all just description after description. The ending was very creepy and not what I expected from a dystopian novel.

5) Seconds by Brian Lee O’Malley (BookTube-A-Thon Read #2)

Full Spoiler Free ReviewGoodreads Page

Rating: .5

I really enjoyed this book. I know my review says 5 stars but after thinking about it, I think I’d knock have a star off just because of the characters. They didn’t go through that much character development and they weren’t that orignial to begin with anyway. I liked the plot and it was a book that I went in with no idea what it would be like. I suggest that you guys do so as well if you haven’t read this one yet.

6) Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (BookTube-A-Thon Read #3)

Goodreads Page

Rating: .5

This was a pretty disappointing read for me to be honest. I think it was just a victim of BookTube hype. I don’t know what I was expecting for this book but I don’t think it was quite what I got. The plot, art and writing style was alright but this book mostly flops on the character department. They just fell flat and I can’t help but think that I’ve seen them before. The development they go through is also pretty typical which led me to feel pretty ‘meh’ at the ending. This book was good but sad to say that I don’t think that it lived up to the hype. 😦

7) Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin (Wolf by Wolf #1)

Goodreads Page

Rating: 

Another book I was completely blown away by. I’m planning on writing a full review on this so I’m not going to say my complete thoughts on it but this book was fast paced, well written, and character development heavy. Absolutely loved this book.


August To Be Read

As I said, my TBR for this month will not be super ambitious because I’m starting school again (yay!).

1) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (ACOTAR #1)

Genre: High Fantasy (New Adult) | Goodreads Page

I’m currently almost half way through this book and to be honest, I’m not liking it that much. I heard that a lot of people who don’t like ACOTAR end up really enjoying ACOMAF so regardless my thoughts on this one, I’ll be sure to pick up ACOMAF after completing this book.

2) Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (The Illuminae Files #1)

Genre: Science Fiction (Young Adult) | Goodreads Page

I really want to read this before the sequel comes out later this year just so I end up being caught up in the new releases. I’ve heard great things about this one and I think that the fact that its told through different mediums like messages and transcripts will help me power through this book this month.

3) A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Genre: Fantasy (Children’s) | Goodreads Page

After learning that this book was turning into a movie, I knew I had to read it because I’ve heard so many great things about it. I have no idea what this book is about and I’m excited to go into it blind. I also heard the trailer is amazing so I definitely need to read it soon because (for once) I want to read the book before I see the movie.


And that’s it! My July Wrap Up and August TBR. This August, I’m hoping that I’ll get through more books than those mentioned but I’m definitely not going to promise. How was your reading during July and what do you plan on reading this month? Comment below!


Instagram Account | Goodreads Account

Leave a Reply

