August Wrap Up and September To Be Read

As I’ve mentioned almost 1 million times, school started for me this month so I didn’t get to do much in terms of reading and blogging. I only read one book this month and I wasn’t really a big fan of it.


August Wrap Up

1) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

This book was just too slow. I know that’s how Beauty and the Beast is but the plot doesn’t have to be exactly the same. I also found Feyre’s character very questionable and to be honest, annoying. She was supposed to be a smart hunter who has provided for her family for years but her actions didn’t reflect her supposed personality. She continually made dumb decisions which ended up becoming very annoying and repetitive.

Tamlin as a love interest I guess was not that bad. He is the very typical love interest with a troubled past who doesn’t want to talk about it but I did end up enjoying some of the scenes he had with Feyre.

Rhysand was very confusing as a character to me which made him interesting. What I don’t get is how some people were shipping him with Feyre in the first book. I’m pretty sure things will change in ACOMAF but as of now, he seems very creepy and his intentions aren’t that clear to me.

The plot was very boring and only got exciting 300 pages in. This left me very bored and not motivated to pick it up throughout the month. Though those 100 pages did get much better, I couldn’t get over the fact that almost nothing happened in the first three quarters of the book.

Overall Rating: 

Despite this rating, I will be continuing on with the series because I heard that the second book gets much better!


September To Be Read

Now because I didn’t really get to read that much this August, I’m just going to include a few books that are on the top of my TBR list. I do know that I definitely won’t get to all of these this month.

1) Illuminae and Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I’m around half way through Illuminae as of writing this post. I’m really loving the way it’s being told and it’s super easy to read big chunks of the book at one time. I’m excited to see where this story goes because I’m loving it so far! At the half way point, the story is still changing and becoming so much more interesting than I thought it would be. Super happy that I finally got to this book!

2) A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

I really enjoyed An Ember in the Ashes so I’m pretty sure this is the book I’m going to read after I finish Illuminae. To be honest, I only remember a few things about the first book though so I’m going to have to read a short summary on it. Despite this, I’m still super excited to read this as I loved the characters in the first book and the plot. (Side note: this series is now a four book series so I’m super eager to see how big the story will get.)

3) Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Yes, this is not a typo, I haven’t read Queen of Shadows yet and it’s been a year! With Empire of Storms coming out this September 6th, I really have to (finally) read this book so I don’t get too behind! I have heard mixed (but mostly good) reviews on this one so I’m going into this a little bit wary.

(I did already try and read this book but I ended up not finishing it at around page 200, nothing much was happening. Hopefully it won’t happen to me again!)

4) Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Though this does come out towards the end of month, I really want to get to it once it comes out. Basically everyone knows about Six of Crowns and/or The Grisha Trilogy so I doubt this one needs explanation.

5) This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

After all the hype surrounding this book, I finally got myself a copy of it. The story sounds super interesting. If you don’t know, it’s about a city that is divided in two. One side is run by monsters while the other is run by the humans. The thing that intrigued me the most is the fact that Victoria Schwab created these monsters and wasn’t inspired from already existing monsters such as vampires or werewolves. I really want to get to this one soon as I’ve heard that Victoria Schwab’s writing is really good!

6) Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

This one has also been getting a lot of hype. I did talk about it in my “Most Anticipated Fall Releases” post but if you don’t know, this book is basically about three royal sisters who grew up in three different environments. They eventually have to face each other and fight to the death in order to determine who becomes queen. I also think that this book has fantastical elements to it so that just makes it even more intriguing to me. To be honest, other books are more prioritised right now so I’m probably going to get to this one during October.


Be sure to tell me in a comment below the books you’re planning to read this September!

2 thoughts on “August Wrap Up and September To Be Read

Leave a Reply

